Teen Permit Requirements
Parent and Teen Must visit DPS Office and Must Possess the Following:
2. Certificate from online drivers ed school that shows proof of first 6 hours of course completion/DPS permit test passed online or
32 hour completion certificate (32 hour certificate holder must take permit test at DPS Office).
3. Current VOE Form (last 30 days) completed and signed by High School or 5 Days Before Summer VOE is Valid All Summer
4. -Certified birth certificate
5. -Original social security card or proof of it by completing affidavit
6. -Two forms of proof that parent/student has lived in Texas for 30 days (e.g. phone, utility, credit card statement, etc…)
-—–Additional Proof Accepted Click Here
7. -Up to $16.00 cash, check or credit card
Parent Taught Only Must Also Bring All of the Above Documents and the Following:
1. -First 6 Hour Online Classroom Completion Certificate
2. -Classroom Log Form DL-90a with 6 Hours Logged
3. -Classroom Affidavit Log Form Dl-91a Notarized
Two Stages to Acquire a Teen Unrestricted License In Texas
Through Required Graduated Driving Program:
Texas law requires teens to complete a two stage process to earn their unrestricted drivers license.
Teen Driver Stage One
- Teen must be 15 to 17 years old and have an instruction permit or hardship.
- During stage one, a licensed person who is at least 21 years of age must be present in the front seat.
- Practice driving for six months in stage one with a valid permit and teen may move to state two.
Teen Driver Stage Two
- Stage two must be six months on valid permit.
- During stage two teen driver 16 to 17 years of age may hold a Texas Drivers License with restrictions.
- Teen may not operate a motor vehicle with more than one passenger in the vehicle under the age of 21 who is not a family member.
- Teen may not operate a motor vehicle between midnight and 5:00 a.m. unless the operation of the vehicle is necessary for the operator to attend or participate in employment or a school-related activity or because of a medical emergency.
- Teen may not operate a motor vehicle while using a wireless communication device.